Independent Curators International supports the work of curators to help create stronger art communities through experimentation, collaboration, and international engagement.

Independent Curators International supports the work of curators to help create stronger art communities through experimentation, collaboration, and international engagement.

Menu Close

401 Broadway #1620
New York, NY 10013
+1 212 254 8200


Curatorial Intensive Instituto Inhotim 2012

Apr 22 – 28, 2012

Brumadinho, Brazil
Instituto Inhotim

Brumadinho, Brazil

Organized from April 22–28, 2012, the Curatorial Intensive employs Instituto Inhotim as a case study to explore how curatorial practices negotiate issues of commissioning and adaptation of site-specific works, interpretation and recreation of lost and unrealized projects, the spatial expansion of the institution, and new forms of outreach and audience development.

The Curatorial Intensive at Inhotim is organized in affiliation with a post-graduate seminar at the Federal University of Minas Gerais.

Mari Spirito

Mari Spirito is Executive Director and Curator of Protocinema, a cross-cultural, site-aware art organization commissioning and presenting exhibitions and public programs in Istanbul and New York, since 2011.

Övül Ö. Durmusoglu

Övül Ö. Durmusoglu is a curator, writer, and educator living in Berlin.

Paula Braga

Paula Braga is a professor at UFABC - Brasil.

Camila Bechelany

Camila Bechelany is a Brazilian researcher and independent curator based in Paris.

Kevser Guler

Kevser Guler has a background in engineering and philosophy, and has worked for the Istanbul Biennial for over five years.

Diana Campbell

Diana Campbell Betancourt is a curator committed to fostering a transnational art world.

Mónica Espinel

Monica Espinel is an independent curator and writer specializing in Modern and Contemporary Art from Latin America.

Anya Harrison

Anya Harrison earned her MA in Art History with Distinction from the The Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London where she studied conceptualism as an expanded practice and its global histories.

Sophie Goltz

Sophie Goltz is curator and head of public programs and publications at the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.).

Sarah Urist Green

Sarah Urist Green is creator and curator of The Art Assignment, an educational video series produced by PBS Digital Studios that explores art history through the lens of the present.

Geir Haraldseth

Geir Haraldseth is a curator and writer based in Oslo, Norway.

Cristina Lleras

Cristina Lleras currently works for the Institute of the Arts in Bogotá, Colombia, acting as manager of the Visual Arts Program.

Kate Fowle

Kate Fowle is Director of MoMA PS1 in New York.

Rodrigo Moura

Rodrigo Moura is a curator, editor and art writer.

Victoria Noorthoorn

Victoria Noorthoorn is the Director of Museo Moderno, Buenos Aires.

Jochen Volz

Jochen Volz is the General Director of Pinacoteca de São Paulo and the curator of the Brazilian Pavilion at the 57th Biennale di Venezia (2017). He was the chief curator of the 32nd Bienal de São Paulo (2016).

About Instituto Inhotim
Instituto Inhotim is a unique site that offers a broad ensemble of art works, displayed outdoors as well as in both temporary and permanent galleries, all located inside a Botanical Garden of extraordinary beauty. Decreed a Civil Society Organization of Public Interest, Inhotim offers, in addition to these areas of artistic enjoyment and entertainment, environmental research work, educational actions and an important program of social inclusion and citizenship for the local population. The art collection comprises over 500 works by artists of national and international renown, such as Adriana Varejão, Helio Oiticica, Cildo Meireles, Chris Burden, Matthew Barney, Doug Aitken, and Janet Cardiff, among others. Inhotim distinguishes itself from other museums by offering artists unique conditions for developing their art right inside the park.

The Curatorial Intensive was made possible, in part, by grants from Affirmation Arts, the Dedalus Foundation, the Helena Rubinstein Foundation, the Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, the Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation, and the Robert Sterling Clark Foundation; and by generous contributions from Toby Devan Lewis, James Cohan, and the supporters of ICI's Access Fund.